Nam Sang Wai


Steep and undulating peaks is a signature landform of Hong Kong. In our mountainous terrain, a broad horizon seems unlikely, but there is actually a wide area of rural country and wetlands in the northwest New Territories. Nam Sang Wai in eastern Yuen Long is one such picturesque wetland.

Mangroves Along River Channel

Mangroves Along River Channel Make a start at the top of the road leading to Nam Sang Wai. Follow the long embankment road by the Kam Tin River to the enchanting wetland. Growing on both sides of the river are an associate mangrove species, Spiny Bears Breeches (Acanthus ilicifolius). The leaves look rather like those of hollies, only with thorny edges. You will see salt crystals on the leaves, clues of a unique survival trick to adapt to the brackish water environment. A true mangrove species, Kandelia obovata, has an alternative solution to adapt to the harsh environment. In March and April, the plant will come out with hanging slender droppers. With this unusual viviparous reproductive method, the mangrove adapts to the challenging estuarine habitat and cyclical tides. These long droppers are actually developed seeds. They would drop away from the mother tree and take root in the soft soil. Boasting a rich inherent reserve of nutrients, they can grow roots and secure a firm footing rapidly.

Lively Riverside Habitat

Lively Riverside Habitat Don't overlook the riverbed where scattered mangroves grow. At low ebb, it really comes alive. This habitat supports a surprisingly diverse ecological system. On the exposed river bed, you will find the mudskipper Boleophthalmus pectinirostris. Largely mud-coloured, this species has subtle light blue spots. Often seen bouncing agilely, they look quite comical when they pump up their gills with water. On the river bank you may find the elegant egrets. Disturbed by your presence, these birds might just take flight. The smooth and effortless ascent is a delightful display of aerodynamic flair.

Birds of Estuary

Birds of Estuary Visit Nam Sang Wai between late autumn and early spring, and you will not be disappointed. It is a vivacious scene both on the banks and further ahead where Kam Tin River meets Shan Pui River. At this time of year, wintering or migrating waterbirds gather in large groups to feed. You will be amazed by the bubbling energy, and the varied forms of habits. The most entrancing of all are the seagulls. Most species of gulls are largely white with grey upperparts and back. Often found hovering gracefully by the coast, these masters of flight are a pleasure to watch. Following their smooth sailing movements as they circle just above the water, one cannot help being dazzled. Then there is Northern Pintail (Anas acuta) with its graceful pointed tail, Yellow-nib Duck (Anas poecilorhyncha) with its yellow-tipped black bill, and other male ducks which flaunt their colourful breeding plumage in the mating season. These water birds generally feed or swim at a mellow pace, as if to let the observer adore their graceful postures. Keep an eye out while you observe the ducks, though, for a Black-faced Spoonbill (Platalea minor) might just happen to land on the bank. The appearance of this rare white bird with its spoon-shaped black bill will surely excite you.

Relic of Gei Wai

Relic of Gei Wai Continue along the fields and take a stroll on the path lined by Lemon-scented Gums (Eucalyptus citriodora). As the sun slowly sets behind the reeds, your thought will drift far. Up ahead in the abandoned Gei Wais, your mind will drift even further. Not too long ago, on the few days of high tidal range around the first and fifteenth day of each lunar month during the summer, shrimp farmers would make use of the sluice gates to trap Gei Wai shrimps. The operation would start at dusk and go on till the early hours. The catch is never small.

Map

南生圍生態遊蹤


香港的地形千皺百褶,形成了很多層層疊疊、參參錯錯、高高低低的磅礡山勢。身在城中,很多時都會讓人以為香港只是一個沒有地平線的都市。不過,在新界的西北部,香港其實還留有一片廣闊無垠的田野和濕地。位於新界元朗東面的南生圍,便是香港其中一片還可以讓人感受天寬地闊的濕地景致的迷人地方。

夾道紅樹

夾道紅樹從南生圍路口起行,一條沿著錦田河伸向天際的堤路,便會引領到訪那裡的人,走向一個奇妙而美麗的濕地世界。首先,你會看到一片片生長在河道兩旁葉形如聖誕花葉、但葉緣卻滿是尖刺的老鼠簕。它們滿布鹽粒的葉面,顯示著這種類紅樹品種為了適應鹹淡水的生存環境而衍生的排鹽特性。而於每年的三四月份,只要細心觀察,你更可看見一種真紅樹品種 - 秋茄樹,為了適應河口潮浪循環不息的惡劣生長環境所衍生的一種獨特的胎生繁殖方式,就是樹上掛著的一條條尖尖長長的綠色胚軸。這些胚軸其實是秋茄樹一些已發育的種子,當它們離開母樹之後,便可筆直地插進河床的軟泥裡生長,而且由於早已從母樹身上吸取充足的營養,因此可以很快長出幼根,逐步牢牢地抓穩鬆軟的濕泥,拓展另一片生趣盎然的天地。

河邊生境

河邊生境其實,身旁一些紅樹叢比較疏落的河岸,於潮退的時候,亦是另一片豐盛多姿的生態環境。在那些露出的河床上,你可以看見很多身體泥沼色、有著淺藍色斑點、能在泥面飛快彈跳的大彈塗魚。牠們含著河水鼓起鰓室的有趣樣子,總會把人逗得會心微笑。而那些常佇立河邊靜候魚蟹出現、體色雪白皎潔的白鷺,因遊人的到訪而在無際的漁塘上拍翼遠飛的柔美姿態,或許會令微笑的人,看得更愉快入神。

河口鳥趣

河口鳥趣而愉快的心境,在紅葉紛飛的深秋至荷花漸露的初春之間,卻可能變得難以平靜。那時候,在河道的兩旁及前方錦田河流進山貝河的交匯處,將會有一群群過境或前來香港過冬的水鳥,為你展現出一幅幅可以看得人心神俱亂的生命景致。其中最亂人心神的,要算是大多數品種都是體色白色而翼上和上背均為灰色的海鷗,牠們在空中起起落落、在水上迴旋低飛的優美姿態,總把追看牠們的人也弄得四週打轉,眼花繚亂。幸好,體形優雅尾羽尖長的針尾鴨、嘴黑而嘴端黃色的斑嘴鴨,以及更多更多在進入繁殖期後便會換上顏色鮮艷的婚羽的雄性水鴨,卻總會悠悠靜靜地在河裡覓食或暢泳,好讓到訪的人靜觀牠們各有異趣的覓食姿態。而說不定就在此刻,數隻白身黑嘴、嘴狀如琵琶的黑臉琵鷺,會不經意地在不遠的河邊飄然降下,令悠閒觀鳥的心情,變得興奮莫名。

基圍歲月

基圍歲月不過興奮的心情始終會平靜下來。尤其是沿著田壆繼續前行,於兩行赤桉樹中漫步,看著傾斜的日光,在身旁一片輕柔的蘆葦叢上徐徐淡去,心境總會變得空明澹遠。而當看見已荒廢的基圍水閘,空明的心境更會悠然的想起:曾幾何時,在夏天每逢農歷的初一、十五,以及前後幾天潮差最大的日子裡,蝦民便會利用這個水閘,從黃昏直至夜深,把肥美的基圍蝦從閘口一網網的捕捉起來...

古渡舟橫

古渡舟橫行程的盡處是一排排架在水道上的木屋和一個古樸的渡頭。你大可在那裡流連一會,感受一下在大嶼山大澳以外,香港另一片純樸的水鄉風情。或者從渡頭登船,讓船家一棹槳,輕舟便自橫。波浪輕輕,坐船的遊人,便依依地從南生圍的河塘,落入元朗市區蒼茫的暮色之中。

地圖